Cardiganshire Short Mat Bowling Association

Cymdeithas Bowlio Mat Byr Ceredigion



View CSMBA Club Venues in a larger map
Click on the relevant pin to view the address of a club

If any of the details for your club listed below are inaccurate, either following your club's AGM, because someone resigns or retires, or simply because someone's contact details have changed, please let us know using the club and team information update form:

As the form's name suggests, this form can be used to provide updates at any time. If the changes needed are minor, there is no need to comlete the whole form, simply provide the club name and then complete the relevant boxes for the information that needs amending.


Teams: Aberporth Sharks and Aberporth Dolphins

Home venue
Aberporth Community Hall,
SA43 2EN

President - Winston Jones 01239 810244
Chairman - Andre Bann 07973 342669
Vice-Chairman - Mike Trick 01239 810399
Treasurer - Gethin Davies 07415 084945
Secretary - Eileen Bennett 01239 621971
Club Captain - TBA

Teams captains:
Aberporth Sharks - None
Aberporth Dolphins - Keith Hill 07592 803883

Aberporth SMBC extends a warm welcome to new members. We offer an opportunity to play bowls at a variety of levels: informal roll up; friendly, inter-club matches; league matches; county competitions, etc., as well as an opportunity to represent the county and Wales!

If you are new to bowling, or you want to improve your game, we have 3 qualified club coaches who are happy to work with you and guide you. If you are of a more competitive disposition, you might be interested to know that we have had many county team players, Welsh Junior champions and international players, Welsh A Team and Welsh International Team players as members of the club.

Club sessions
Monday, 2 - 4 pm (General club session)
Monday, 4 - 5 pm (Individual coaching by appointment)
Monday, 6 - 8 pm (General club session)
(Sept-Mar) 7.30 - 10 pm (League matches)
Thursday, 2 - 4 pm (General club session)
Thursday, 6 - 8 pm (General club session)
(Sept-Mar) 7.30 - 10 pm (League matches) &
Friday, 6 - 8 pm (Practice session)

Whatever your level of play, you can be sure that we will be able to accommodate you at Aberporth SMBC.


Home venue
Caerwedros Memorial Hall
Near New Quay
SA44 6BL

Chairman - Moira Harries 01545 560166
Secretary - Irene Johnson 01545 561191 or 07519 999723
Treasurer - Linda Evans 01545 660057
Team Captain - John & Linda Evans 01545 660057

Club night is every Tuesday commencing at 7pm until 9.30pm. New members, young and old, are most welcome and with club coaches available will be given every assistance to get the most out of this game.

Capel Dewi

Home venue
The Old School,
Adjacent to the church
on B4459
Capel Dewi

Chairman - Sally Davies 01559 384831
Secretary - Janet Fleming 01559 395380
Treasurer - Helen Thomas 01559 384013
Club Captain - Robert Davies 01559 384831


Teams: Llandygwydd & Tygwydd

Home venue
Llandygwydd Church Hall

Chairman - Huw Davies 01239 710497
Secretary - David Bailey 01239 654599 and 07785 558807
Treasurer - Bruce Wilson 01239 711024
Llandygwydd Captain - Teifi Jenkins 01239 810732 and 07966 493441
Tygwydd Captain - Nick Bolton 01239 615661 and 07929 979875


Home venue
Coracle Hall,

Chairman - Robert Owen 01239 683174
Secretary - Pauline Palmer 01239 682301
Treasurer - Jan Wallace 01239 614440
Team Captain - Bob Tomkins 07811 155156

Club sessions
Tuesday, 2 - 4 pm (General club session) plus 4 - 5 pm (Team practice session)
Friday, 7 - 9 pm (Team practice session)


Home venue
Abercych Village Hall,
On the B4332
SA37 0HD

Chairman - Mike Clarke 01239 698678
Secretary - Alan Ford 01239 710005
Treasurer - Mathew Penfold
Club Captain - Steve Reynolds 01239 811965
Team Captain - Syd Freemantle 01239 615903

Club sessions
Thursday, 7.30 - 9.45 pm (General club session)

The club was one of the earliest to be founded in the area, and we celebrated our 30th anniversary in 2018. We are always looking for new members of any age and ability, whether they wish to play socially or competitively. Our league team is well respected on the circuit, and we consistently finish in the top half of the table.

New members are given a very warm welcome and, with three qualified coaches at the club, they are given every assistance to learn the game and to keep learning as they progress.


Home venue
Mydroilyn Community Hall

President - John Atkinson 01545 580773
Secretary - Freda Adams 01545 580765
Treasurer - Jennifer Robins 01570 470047
Club Captain - Mick Turner 01570 470831

Club sessions
Tuesday & Friday, 7.30 - 9.45 pm (General club session)


Teams: Penrhiwllan & Orllwyn

Home venue
Penrhiwllan Community Hall
Penrhiwllan, SA44 5NL

Chairman - Gill Reeman
Secretary - John Dowling 01239 682965 -
Treasurer - Neil Watkins 01559 362665
Penrhiwllan Captain - Carole Tabbiner 01559 371438
Orllwyn Team Captain - John Dowling 01239 682965

Club sessions
Practice on a Tuesday from 6.00PM. New members most welcome to join us - just come to the hall at 6.00PM with a flat pair of shoes. We have two qualified coaches to help you on your "Bowling" way. We also practice on a Thursday during the summer, start 7.00PM.


Home venue
Rhydlewis Village Hall

Club sessions
Tuesday, 7 - 10 pm (General club session)
Friday, 7 - 10 pm (General club session)
Chairman - Alan Davies 01239 851605
Vice-Chairman - Robert O Evans 01239 851940
Secretary - Dafydd Jones 01239 851451
Treasurer - Margaret Showell 01559 371040
Club Captain - Dafydd Jones 07943 838217
League Captain - Medwyn Jones 01239 851538

Find Rhydlewis Short Mat Bowls Club on Facebook

The club was formed in January 2004. It was initially instigated by Norman Davies with help from his wife and a few enthusiastic and hard working people. We are a small friendly club with a membership of 20 adults and 10 juniors.

We have had three successful league seasons, improving our final position each year from fifth to second last year. We have one adult and one junior member representing Wales. We also have two coaches so any prospective new members can be assured of a warm welcome and help to learn or improve their game.